You are here

Important Information Regarding the Fellowship Match



MSK Fellowship Match – We’re In!

The Society of Skeletal Radiology (SSR) is establishing the Musculoskeletal (MSK) Imaging Fellowship Match, which will take place in Spring 2019 for appointment year 2020-21. The SSR will serve as the sponsoring organization with the National Resident Matching Program (NRMP) managing the match process. MSK will abide by the NRMP All In Policy, which means that all available fellowship positions at programs participating in the MSK Match must be listed and appointed through the Match, including positions filled by internal applicants.


Frequently Asked Questions (FAQs)

Questions about the MSK Match are expected and encouraged. We are now shifting efforts from Match recruitment to helping programs and applicants prepare for the first MSK Match. We have several important updates that have been added to the FAQ document in this regard:




Please take special note of the following:

  • Friday, June 1, 2018 was the deadline for submitting MSK Match Memoranda of Understanding (MOUs) for Match-eligible programs and Interview Timeline Agreements (ITAs) for Match-ineligible programs. If there are any changes to the information you submitted on the MOU or ITA (e.g. change in Match eligibility, number of fellowship positions, program coordinator or program director), please resubmit the MOU or ITA or contact the SSR directly to update your program’s information. You should only submit the document that pertains to your program’s Match eligibility status.
  • The SSR has delisted from its website all Match-eligible programs that opted out of the 2019 Match or did not submit an MOU, and all Match-ineligible programs that did not submit an ITA. The SSR will not extend member-in-training (MIT) benefits to fellowship classes that are selected during the year(s) that Match-eligible programs opt out of the Match or that Match-ineligible programs opt out of the ITA.
    • If you did not submit an MOU or ITA by the June 1, 2018 deadline and would like to change your program’s participation status, please contact the SSR directly to notify them of your intent.


The MSK Match is not eligible for the ERAS application service because of the large number of participating fellowship programs that are not ACGME-accredited.  The SSR has developed a common application form for programs that wish to use it:



  • Use of the common application form is optional for MSK fellowship programs, but allows applicants to fill out a single form that can then be submitted to any participating fellowship program. 
  • Applicants are still responsible for verifying whether program(s) they apply to accept this form, for providing any additional materials required to complete their application at a particular program (e.g. CV, personal statement), and for submitting and confirming receipt of their completed application to all intended program(s). 


 Please updated your program’s fellowship website to reflect any changes as a result of the MSK Match. This includes but is not limited to the following:

  • Match eligibility and participation, or ITA participation
    • Whether you will use the SSR common application form or your own application form
    • The date you will begin accepting applications. SSR strongly recommends that programs not accept fellowship applications before October 1, 2018.
    • The date you will begin interviewing. According to the MSK Match MOU and Interview Timeline Agreement, interviews cannot begin before November 25, 2018.
    • Availability of flexible interview options, such as meeting at RSNA or conducting preliminary and/or final interviews by video conference.


If you are participating in the 2019 MSK Match, please contact your GME Designated Institutional Officer as soon as possible to notify them of your intent.

  • Each institutional DIO must attest to oversight of all programs at their institution that participate in the Match, and there may be institution-specific requirements that must be met before the DIO will agree to manage the Match for any particular training program. Therefore, it is important that you are aware of and address any requirements before beginning the MSK fellowship application and interview process.


Communication is critical as we begin the next phase of this process—we will be sending updates as they become available, and ask that you please contact the SSR if there are any changes in the status of your MSK fellowship, fellowship director or fellowship coordinator. If you have any questions, please contact SSR Executive Director and Match Liaison Sue O'Sullivan at, or the SSR Resident and Fellow Education Committee Chair Jen Demertzis at


We thank you for your participation in this process, and look forward to working with you for a successful 2019 MSK Radiology Fellowship Match.


SSR Executive Committee
SSR Resident and Fellow Education Committee





"We're In!"

The SSR would like to acknowledge the following institutions for their support of the MSK Match (*Submitted MOU). Additional programs will be added as we receive their MOUs: